Another New Painting!

The adorable Mia Talerico; this is the best image I could find, to show the “kitty” shirt.

Her Playroom

This is the third painting, in the small series I’ve been working on. It goes with the two paintings, I posted, previously. I have been working on this one, for quite awhile and I’m now very happy, to get to share it, with all of you. So, thank you for taking an interest.

It is called, Her Playroom. For this one, I also created a scenario around a little girl. It was very important that I make sure, she was illustrated this way. I still wanted to follow in the vintage, “Big Eye” style, but I wanted her to have age appropriate, facial features-no “really long” eyelashes or “overly large” eyes. Also, I didn’t want her to look as though, she was wearing any make up. She only needed a slight, “rosy” hint on her cheeks and that’s it. I feel as though, I was able to capture this.

I was inspired by an actual photograph, I came across, while browsing the internet, for other ideas. The photograph features two little girls, obviously, sisters, in their playroom/bedroom and seated next to one of them, is a white poodle, ride-on toy, with a painted face. I knew then, I wanted to illustrate a scene, like it. So, that’s how this illustration/painting happened. Basically, it tells the same story as the photograph, but instead, it features one little girl, enjoying her playroom, with her favorite toy. However, her poodle is wearing a collar and has a leash, so she can take him/her, wherever she goes. I noticed in the photograph, there is wallpaper, with cute designs in the bedroom, and I wanted to create my own, for the painting. I decided I would illustrate “baby elephants,” because they are so cute and I thought it would be appropriate, for a child’s playroom. Each one is posing differently, in a patch of grass and tiny blossoms. They all have their “mouse sidekick,” with the exception of two. For some reason, I painted them “pink,” not to refer to someone, who is hallucinating from alcohol, but for the “childlike” quality. If you notice, vintage wallpaper often has animals, that are different colors, other than what they truly are. Actually, that’s the way children’s wallpaper looks, anyway. It’s all about imagination and childhood, combined. Plus, I think chubby, pink baby elephants, are adorable.

The little girl’s outfit is inspired by a top, which the actress Mia Talerico wore, on an episode of the Disney Channel show, “Good Luck Charlie.” The top I illustrated/painted is almost identical, but not quite. The cat/kitten on mine is much smaller and the Swiss dots are white, instead of silver. Also, the color of the top is a richer, “pink” shade. I know that if I was a little girl, I would have loved this top! I paired “bloomer” shorts with it, since I felt the entire outfit, is what you would call, “play clothes.” Unfortunately, I don’t know who the company/artist is, who designed the top, so I can’t give them credit, but they certainly inspired me, regardless.

This painting had its difficulties. I illustrated the little girl, as if she’s leaning against the wall, with her legs tucked to the side. Her other arm is rather difficult to see, because it’s behind her back and I’m not so sure, it’s proportioned, correctly. I decided to leave it alone, though. Shading and adding value behind her, wasn’t easy and again, I’m not sure of myself. There’s a faint shadow behind her and I really didn’t think it needed much more.

This painting is done in acrylic and measures, 11 x 14 inches.

About axmattive

I'm a vintage and kitsch-loving, artsy kind of gal. Dolls are the main inspiration for most of my artwork, especially my drawings and illustrations. However, I'm also inspired by pop culture figures. I'm trying to branch out, to find my niche in art, and it's not easy, since I'm constantly inspired. One thing is for sure, though. Art will always have a place in my life, because I'm a creative person. Hopefully, if I have the chance one day, I can share it, with many people. Why? Well, I have that "spark," and it's my dream.
This entry was posted in Spring 2017 Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

